TTM Phichit

Full Name: TTM Phichit Football Club
Nickname: The Northern Tigers
Founded: 1963
Home Ground: Phichit Stadium
Manager/Coach: Myung Ho-bae (South Korea)

Thai Premier League Champions: 2005
Thailand Division 1 League Champion: 2000
Kor Royal Cup Winners: 2006

TTM Phichit were founded in 1963 by Thailand Tobacco Monopoly as the works team for the company and have been an ever present in the Thai football landscape since that day.

TTM were one of the founding members of the TPL in 1996/97, however they would last only one year - relegated back to Division 1 where they would stay until the early 2000′s. On their return to the TPL they found their place mid-table, finishing in 8th place in their first three seasons back in the top flight.

TTM surprised everyone when they claimed the 2005 TPL title, finishing 2 points clear of Buriram and Osotspa to claim their first title and qualify for the 2006 AFC Champions League, a competition they wouldn’t participate in.

After failing to lodge any paperwork with the AFC, TTM were disqualified for the 2006 AFC Champions League campaign.

At the start of the 2009 season, and in line with new FAT regulations, the club changed its name and relocated its base, moving from Bangkok to Samut Sokhan and were renamed TTM Samut Sokham. The move would last only one year before, to the annoyance of many, they moved to Phichit where they remain to this day.

Leave a reply