Thai Port FC

Full Name: Thai Port Football Club
Nickname: Singh jao tha (Port Lions)
Founded: 1967
Home Ground: PAT Stadium
Manager/Coach: Thongchai Sukkokee (Thailand)

Thai Premier League Runner-Up: 1999
Thai FA Cup Winner: 2009
Kor Royal Cup Winner: 1968, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1985, 1990
Kor Royal Cup Runner-Up: 2010
Queen’s Cup Winner: 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1987, 1993
Queen’s Cup Runner-Up: 1984
Thai League Cup Winner: 2010

Formerly known as Port Authority of Thailand, Thai Port were founded in 1967 by Major Prachuap Suntranakul who was director of the Port Authority of Thailand at the time and was instrumental in the formation of the club.

The late 70′s and early 80′s was a very successful time for the club, claiming four Kor Royal Cups and four Queen’s Cup titles. Following that, however, there has been a lean period for the club with only a smattering of titles over the next few decade, the most significant being the 2009 Thai FA Cup which ended a 16-year trophy drought for the club.

At the start of that 2009 season the club changed its name to Thai Port FC in line with new FAT regulations. However there is an ongoing battle between Thai Port FC Company, the Port Authority of Thailand and the FAT over the ownership of the club.

Leave a reply