Chonburi FC

Full Name: Chonburi FC
Nickname: The Sharks
Founded: 1997
Home Ground: IPE Chonburi Stadium
Manager/Coach: Jadet Meelarp (Thailand)


Thai Premier League Champions: 2007
Thai Premier League Runner-Up: 2008, 2009
Provincial League Champions: 2005
Provincial League Runner-Up: 2002
Thai FA Cup Champions: 2010
Kor Royal Cup Champions: 2008, 2009, 2011
Singapore Cup Runner-Up: 2006

Chonburi was established from the Football Club of Assumption College Sriracha and not long after merged with Sannibat-Samutprakan to create Chonburi-Sannibat-Samutprakan.

In 2002 Chonburi separated from Sannibat-Samutprakan and entered the Thailand Provincial League under the name Chonburi Code Red, adopting the nickname of The Sharks, which they still have to this day.

Chonburi would win the Thailand Provincial League in 2005, earning a spot in the Thai Premier League as a result.

After finishing 8th in their first season, the club would create history by winning its first TPL Championship in 2007, earning a spot in the AFC Champions League.

Leave a reply