Buriram PEA

Full Name: Buriram PEA FC
Nickname: The Thunder Castles
Founded: 1970
Home Ground: i-mobile Stadium
Manager/Coach: Attaphol Buspakom (Thailand)


Thai Premier League Champions: 2008
Thai Premier League Runner-Up: 2004/05
Thai Division 1 League Runner-Up: 2002/03
Kor Royal Cup Runner-Up: 2009
Khôr Royal Cup Runner-Up: 1998
Thai League Cup Runner-Up: 2010

Buriram was founded in 1970 as Provincial Electricity Authority and played in the colours of purple and white and were known as ‘Sparing Guys’ or ‘The Sparkers’.

The club originally based themselves out of Ngamwongwan in Bangkok, the location of PEA’s head office. However, due to the expanding nature of the Thai Premier League and the limitations on the fan base in the area, the club made the decision to move to Ayuthhaya Province where they formed a close relationship with the local community and were unofficially known as Faifa Ayutthaya (Electricity of Ayutthaya in english).

In 2010, however, the club was taken over by Buriram politician Newin Chidchob, and he moved the team to Buriram, causing mass protests by PEA supporters, who even burned the traditional purple strip.

Chidchob remained defiant, however, and the club moved to Buriram and changed their identity by opting for a dark blue instead of purple.

Leave a reply