Full Name: Follad Mobarakeh Sepahan Football Club
Nickname: Yellow’s
Home Ground: Fooladshahr Stadium
Manager: Luca Bonacic (Croatia) 


League Winners: 2002-03, 2009-10, 2010-11
League Runner-Up: 2007-08
Hazfi Cup Winners: 2003-04, 2005-06, 2006-07
AFC Champions League Runner-Up: 2007 


Sepahan was founded in 1947 (then known as Shahin Isfahan) by Mahmoud Hariri. The team was affiliated with Shahin Tehran. Shahin ran into some problems within their organization in 1967, and therefore the club changed its name to Sepahan and became its own club. The club competed mostly in local Isfahan leagues until 1993. When the IPL started in 2001, the team began to have a lot of success.

Their first season in the IPL (2001-02), they finished in 9th place. The following season, Sepahan began to have a lot of success thanks to the help of top goal scorer Edmund Bezik. They finished in first place and qualified for their first AFC Champions League.

With the arrival of Croation manager Luca Bonacic in 2006, marked the begining of what was seen as a golden era for Sepahan. In Bonacic’s first year in charge, the team won the 2006-07 Hazfi cup. The following year, Sepahan finished as runners-up in the AFC champions league to Urawa Red Diamonds.

Although they did not win the title, they still won a spot in the 2007 edition of the FIFA Club World Cup. In the oppening match of the 2007 FIFA Club World Cup, Sepahan defeated Waitrake united 3-1 to reach the quarter finals, where again they would meet Urawa Red Diamonds. For the second time in just one month, Urawa Red Diamonds defetead Sepahan, this time knocking them out of the FIFA Club World Cup.

Sepahan continued to have success over the next few seasons and won back-ti-back IPL title’s in 2009-10 and 2010-11. Some of their noteable players over the last decade consist of Emad Mohammad Ridah (Iraq), Ibrahim Toure (Senagal), Armando Sa (Mozambique), Favi Januaro (Brazil), Moharam Navidkia (Iran), Hadi Aghili (Iran), Ehsan Hajsafi (Iran), Jallal Hoesseini (Iran).

Leave a reply