Saba Qom

Full Name: Saba Qom FC
Nickname: -
Home Ground: Yadegar Emam Qom
Manager: Abdollah Veisi


Azadegan League Winners: (1 time) - 2003-04
Hazfi Cup Winners: (1 time) - 2004-05
Iranian Super Cup Winners: (1 time) - 2004-05


Saba was established in 2002. Saba used to be owned by Saba Battery Co. and played in Tehran. The team saw its first major accomplishment in the 2003-04 season when they became the champions of the Azadegan League and were promoted to the IPL.

In the summer of 2004, Saba brought in Serbian Manager Milan Zivadinovic, former Ghana and Yugoslavia National Team manager, in the hopes of guiding them to a top 4 spot in their first IPL season. Saba finished 4th in the League, qualified for the upcoming AFC champions League and won the Hafzi Cup. However, despite the teams success, Zivadinovic resigned.

In 2008, Saba Battery was moved to Qom and re-named Saba Qom FC. The reason for this was mainly because the attandences were so low in all other Tehran based teams other than Esteghlal, Persepolis, and Rah Ahan. Therefore, in the hopes of creating a fan base in Qom, Saba moved their home ground to there.

They were successful in doing so and obtained higher attendance rates in Qom than in Tehran. Some former noteable players are Ali Daei, Gholam Reza Rezaie, Sohrab Bakhtiarizadeh, Javad Zarincheh, Mohammad Nouri, and Yahya Gholmohammadi.

Leave a reply