Geylang United

Full Name: Geylang United Football Club
Nickname: The Eagles
Founded: 1974 (as International Contract Specialists)
Home Ground: Bedok Stadium (Capacity 3,900)
Manager/Coach: Mike Wong (Singapore)

S.League Champions: 1996 (Series 1), 2001
S.League Runner-Up: 2003
Premier League Champions: 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
National Football League Champions: 1975, 1976, 1977
Singapore Cup: 2009
Presidents Cup Champions: 1976, 1978, 1990, 1991, 1995
Singapore Cup Runner-Up: 1997, 2001, 2003
Singapore League Cup: -
Singapore FA Cup Champions: 1996

One of the most decorated sides in Singapore, Geylang United started out as International Contract Specialists in 1973 before changing their name to Geylang International in 1975 and finally to Geylang United in 1996.

Geylang are most famous for winning an unprecedented six straight Premier League titles from 1988 to 1993, a feat which has not been repeated by any other side since, the club is also famous for capturing the inaugural S.League title in 1996.

Since then though, the club has only managed to repeat the feat once, winning the S.League again in 2001.

Leave a reply