V-League Logo

Formed: 1980
Number of Teams: 14
Promotion/Relegation: Yes
Relegation to: Vietnamese First Division
Domestic Cups: Vietnamese Cup
Current Champions: Ha Noi T&T
Most number of Championships: Viettel FC (5)


The V-League, as it is known today, dates back to 1980 when the first semi-professional league was launched (then known as the Vietnamese National A1 Football Cup).

Seventeen clubs participated in the competition which was split into three groups and conducted more like a cup competition, with the winner from each group qualifying for the Championship Stage. Công An Hà Nội, Tông Cuc Düòng Sát and Hai Quan were the three teams to qualify, with Tông Cuc Düòng Sát ultimately taking out the title.

That format, although the teams were split into two groups, continued until 1995 when the league reverted to a more traditional league format.

League football in Vietnam would turn professional in the 2000-01 season, which saw the league change its name to its current moniker - V-League. In that inaugural V-League season there were only 10 clubs, with tighter restrictions meaning lesser teams.

Over the next decade the league grew from 10 teams to the current 14, with the team that finishes on top of the table qualifying for the AFC Cup, the second-tier continental club competition in Asia.

Leave a reply