Kuala Lumpur FA

Kuala Lumpur FA

Full Name: Kuala Lumpur Football Association
Nickname: City Squad, City Boys, The Hawks
Founded: 1974 (as Federal Territory Football Association)
Home Ground: KLFA Stadium
Manager/Coach: Razip Ismail (Malaysia)

Malaysian Super League Champions: 1986, 1988
Malaysian Super League Runner-Up: 1982, 1987, 1989
Malaysian FA Cup Winners: 1993, 1994, 1999
Malaysian FA Cup Runner-Up: 1999
Malaysia Cup Winners: 1987, 1988, 1989
Malaysia Cup Runner-Up: 1985
Malaysia Charity Shield Winners: 1988, 1995, 2000
Malaysia Charity Shield Runner-Up: 1987, 1989, 1990, 1994

Formed as the Federal Territory Football Association in 1974, the KLFA started entering Malaysian football competitions in 1979 before being renamed Kuala Lumpur FA in 1986. Their first decade was a very successful one, with most of the clubs success coming in that ten-year period.

KLFA has developed a fierce rivalry with Selangor, mostly due to their respective geographical locations. The battle between the two sides is often referred to as the Klang Valley Derby. Hostilities were resumed in 2010 after KLFA ended a seven-year stint in the second division.

Leave a reply