2015 AFC Asian Cup Qualifying

2015 AFC Asian Cup Qualifying

AFC Asian Cup Logo

Number of Teams: 20
Number of Groups: 5 (four teams in each group)
Qualification for AFC Asian Cup: Top 2 from each group and best 3rd placed team

The AFC Asian Cup, Asia’s premier football competition, is coming to Australia in January 2015.

With four teams already qualified - Japan, Australia, Korea Republic & DPR Korea - the battle for the final 11 spots will begin in 2013 with the start of 2015 AFC Asian Cup Qualifying.

The 12th and final qualifying spot will be awarded to the winner of the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup, to be hosted by the Maldives. The teams that participate in the AFC Challenge Cup, and therefore did not enter qualifying for 2015 AFC Asian Cup are:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, Guam, India, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan.

The preliminary draw was held in Melbourne on 9 October 2012. The twenty teams involved in the qualifiers were drawn into five groups of four teams each, with each group containing one team from each of the following seeding pots.

Teams in each group will play a home-and-away round-robin. The top two teams from each group and one third best-placed team from among all the groups will qualify for the finals.

Leave a reply