2014 FIFA World Cup Qualifying

2014 FIFA World Cup Qualifying

Number of Teams: 20
Number of Groups: 5 (four teams in each group)
Qualification to Fourth Round: Top 2 from each group

Asia was once again awarded 4.5 qualification spots for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

43 of the 46 AFC national teams entered qualification. The rankings determined the round of qualification that teams began competition:

Teams ranked 1–5 (the teams that competed in the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals and the intercontinental play-offs) do not compete in the qualification rounds, and automatically qualify for the first group stage.

Teams ranked 6–27 (other teams that advanced past the first round in 2010 qualification, plus the three first round losers with the ‘best’ results) receive a bye to the second round of qualification.

Teams ranked 28–43 enter at the first round.

For fixtures, results and group standing from the first round up to the current fourth round, please click on the relevant link below.

First Round

Second Round

Third Round
Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D
Group E

Fourth Round
Group A
Group B

Comments are closed.