Naft Tehran

Full Name: Naft Tehran FC
Nickname: None
Home Ground: Naft Stadium
Manager: Hossein Faraki (Iran)


Tehran League Winners: 2004-05
Third Division Winners: 2005-06
Second Division Winners: 2008-09
Azadegan League Winners: 2009-10


Naft Tehran’s adventure to getting to the IPL is one of the most remarkable stories in Iranian football history. In 2003 they started competing in the local Tehran league and 2 years later were promoted to the 3rd division (4th highest division in Iranian football). The following season, again finished first and were promoted to the 2nd division. After 3 years competing in Divison 2, they were promoted to the Azadegan League. Their first season in Azadegan, again, they finished 1st place and were promoted to the Iranian Premier League.

With Naft Tehran being seen as an amateur team amongst the Iranian Public, they did what many doubted and sustained a place in Iranian top flight football. They finished 13th in the 2010-11 edition of the Iranian Premier League.