Malavan Bandar

Full Name: Malavan Bandar Anzali FC
Nickname: White Swans
Home Ground: Takhti Bandar Anzali
Manager: Farhad Pourgholami (Iran)


Hazfi Cup Winners: (3 times) - 1975-76, 1986-87, 1989-90
Hazfi Cup Runner-Up: (4 times) - 1987-88, 1988-89, 1990-91, 2010-11
RCD Cup: Runner-Up: (1time) - 1974


Malavan was founded in 1969 by Bahman Salehnia. The team later became owned and sponsored by the Iranian Navy. Even today, young players who play for Malavan are exempt from Military service, therefore making it a popular club for young players to join.

Malavan Bandar Anzali is known to have one of the strongest fan bases out of the teams that are not from Tehran. Throughout the clubs history Malavan has spent every single season in top flight football in Iran. Along with Iranian giants Esteghlal and Persepolis, Malavan is one of the most consistent teams in Iran.

In 1976, Malavan won their first Hazfi Cup by defeating Tractor Sazi Tabriz 4-1 in the final. 2 goals from Aziz Espandar and another 2 goals from Aziz Niakani was more than enough to secure Malavans first ever major title.

Malavan has produced Iran with many talented players throught history such as Sirous Ghayeghran, Ghafour Jahani, Payan Rafat, Pejman Nouri, Maziar Zare, Mohammad Gholami, and Hassan Ashjari. Most players from Bandar Anzali are known for being hardworking footballers who are constantly running throughout the total 90 minuets of every football match. This characteristic gives them a lot of popularity amongst all Iranian football fans.