Suwon Bluewings

Full Name: Suwon Samsung Bluewings
Nickname: Bluewings
Founded: 1995
Home Ground: Suwon World Cup Stadium (“Big Bird”)
Manager/Coach: Yoon Sung-hyo (Korea)


K-League Champions: 1998, 1999, 2004, 2008
K-League Runner-Up: 1996, 2006
K-League Cup Winners: 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2008
FA Cup Winners: 2002, 2009, 2010
FA Cup Runner-Up: 2011
Korean Super Cup Winners: 1999, 2000, 2005
Asian Club Championship: 2001, 2002
Asian Super Cup: 2001, 2002
Asian Cup Winners Cup Runner-Up: 1998
A3 Champions Cup Winners: 2005
Pan-Pacific Championship Winners: 2009


Suwon claim the 2002 Asian Club Championship

Suwon Bluewings, as they are more commonly known, have only a short history, founded by the Samsung Group in 1995 as the ninth member of the K-League, which kicked off in 1996.

Former national team manager Kim Ho would lead the side in their first season, in which they fell just short of clinching the Championship, ultimately finishing Runner-Up. Their first Championship would arrive in 1998, finishing three points clear of Ulsan Horang-i.

They would defend their title in the best possible style, storming to back-to-back titles and finishing 12 points clear on top of the table.

It would begin a period where Suwon began to dominate, adding the FA Cup, League Cup, Korean Super Cup and Asian Club Championship to their trophy cabinet over the following three years. In fact Suwon won back-to-back Asian Club Championships in 2001 and 2002, with their win in 2002 made all the more sweeter given the fact it came against their fierce rivals Anyang LG Cheetahs (now FC Seoul)