Pohang Steelers

Full Name: Football Club Pohang Steelers
Nickname: -
Founded: 1973 (as POSCO FC)
Home Ground: Pohang Steel Yard
Manager/Coach: Hwang Sun-hong (South Korea)

League Champions: 1986, 1988, 1992, 2007
League Runner-Up: 1985, 1987, 1995, 2004
FA Cup Winners: 1996, 2008
FA Cup Runner-Up: 2001, 2002, 2007
League Cup Winners: 1993, 2009
League Cup Runner-Up: 1997
AFC Champions League Winners: 1997, 1998, 2009
Asian Super Cup Runner-Up: 1997, 1998
A3 Champions Cup Runner-Up: 2005
Afro-Asian Cup Runner-Up: 1997, 1998

Founded under the name POSCO Football Club in 1973, Pohang started like most as a semi-professional club, not turning professional until 1984, which saw a name change to POSCO Dolphins.

Between 1985 and 1988 Pohang were one of the dominant sides in Korea, finishing in the top four each year and clinching two Championships along the way. The club achieved a significant feat in 1990 when it opened it’s purpose built Steel Yard stadium, still the only Football specific stadium built by a Korean club.

In the late 1990′s the club again showed their dominance by winning back-to-back Asian Club Championships (now AFC Champions League). But the following years would represent the club’s lowest point, finishing at the lower end of the table.

Mid-way through the 2000′s though the club began to find it’s mojo again, finishing Runner-Up in 2004 before going on to win the 2007 K-League Championship.

Arguably their greatest feat in recent times was in 2009 when they again achieved continental success by winning the 2009 AFC Champions League, defeating Saudi side Al-Ittihad 2-1 in the final in Tokyo. That saw them qualify for the FIFA Club Worl Cup at which they would finish third.