FC Seoul

Full Name: Football Club Seoul
Nickname: -
Founded: 1983 (as Lucky-Goldstar Hwangso FC)
Home Ground: Seoul World Cup Stadium
Manager/Coach: Choi Yong-soo (caretaker) (Korea)


League Champions: 1985, 1990, 2000, 2010
League Runner-Up: 1986, 1989, 1993, 2001, 2008
League Cup Winners: 2006, 2010
League Cup Runner-Up: 1992, 1994, 1999, 2007
FA Cup Winners: 1998
National Football Championship Winners: 1988
Super Cup Winners: 2001
Super Cup Runner-Up: 1999
Asian Club Championship Runner-Up: 2001/02

FC Seoul were founded on December 22, 1983 as Lucky-Goldstar Hwangso Football Club and were originally based in the Chungcheon region of South Korea.

FC Seoul celebrate their 2010 K-League Championship

It wasn’t until 1990 that Lucky-Goldstar Hwangso would move to Seoul, taking on the name of LG Cheetahs a year later to mirror the LG Twins, a baseball team also owned by LG Group. After several seasons based in Seoul, the club was forced to move in 1996 thanks to the K-League’s decentralisation policy. The policy was designed to stimulate football growth in the provinces and after initial reluctance, the three Seoul-based clubs (LG Cheetahs, Ilhwa Chunma and Yukong Kokkiri) were given eviction notices by the Korean government.

As a result, LG Cheetahs would move to Anyang, a satellite sity of Seoul, and became known as Anyang LG Cheetahs. The club continued to grow, establishing a strong supporter base and in 2000 it won it’s third K-League Championship.

After the 2002 FIFA World Cup, the KFA were looking for teams to fill the ten new stadiums built to host the World Cup. Initially the Seoul World Cup Stadium was left vacant and only used for friendlies. However, to avoid the stadium becoming a white elephant the KFA actively sought a club to move to Seoul to play out of the stadium.

Despite significant anger and protest from fans and rival clubs, in 2004 LG Group announced plans to relocate Anyang LG Cheetahs to Seoul to increase the size of their market. LG Group did have to make a significant compromise, however, having to change the name of the team to FC Seoul, removing any mention of the “LG” brand.