Busan I’Park

Full Name: Busan I’Park Football Club
Nickname: -
Founded: 1983 (as Daewoo Royals FC)
Home Ground: Asiad Main Stadium
Manager/Coach: Ahn Ik-soo (Korea)


League Champions: 1984, 1987, 1991, 1997
League Runner-Up: 1983, 1990, 1990
League Cup Winners: 1997
League Cup Runner-Up: 2001, 2011
FA Cup Winners: 2004
FA Cup Runner-Up: 2010
Korea Professional Championship Winners: 1986
Asian Club Championship Runner-Up: 1986
Afro-Asian Club Championship Winner: 1986


Busan’s home - Asiad Main Stadium

Busan were founded as a semi-professional club in 1983 by the Daewoo company, and were known as the Daewoo Royals, finishing second at their first attempt.

A year later the club turned fully professional and would go on to win its inaugural title, leading to a period of success for the new club, which also saw them life the Asian Club Championship in 1986 and their second title in 1987.

In 1995, when K-League clubs undertook a process of ‘localising’ their identities, the club changed its name to incorporate their home city, becoming Busan Daewoo Royals. However in the late 1990′s the Daewoo corporation struck severe financial difficulties and the club was sold the the I’Park corporation, the domestic construction division of Hyundai.

As a result the team’s name was changed to Busan I’Cons (the “cons” referring to construction), which they kept until 2005 when the name was changed to Busan I’Park. It was around this time that Busan’s form on the park started to improve, with the team claiming the first stage of the 2005 K-League Championship. However they struggled badly in the second stage, finishing dead last and ultimately lost to Incheon United in the Championship Playoff.