Urawa Reds

Full Name: Urawa Red Diamonds
Nickname: Reds
Founded: 1950 (as Mitsubishi Motors)
Home Ground: Saitama Stadium 2002, Komaba Stadium
Manager/Coach: Mihailo Petrovic (Serbia)


J. League Champions: 2006
J. League Runner-Up: 2004, 2005, 2007
J. League Cup Winners: 2003
J. League Cup Runner-Up: 2002, 2004, 2011
Emperor’s Cup Winners: 2005, 2006
Emperor’s Cup Runner-Up: -
AFC Champions League Winners: 2007


Urawa Reds, previously known as the Urawa Reds Diamonds, are often regarded as the biggest club in Japan, mostly due to their large and passionate supporter base.

Urawa's home - Saitama Stadium

The club are owned by Mistubishi, who formed the club (then known as Mitsubishi Motors) in 1950. In 1965, Mitsubishi it was one of the founding members of the Japan Soccer League, along with today’s Sanfrecce Hiroshima (then Toyo Kogyo Syukyu Club), JEF United Chiba (then Furukawa Electric Soccer Club), Kashiwa Reysol (then Hitachi Ltd. Soccer Club), Cerezo Osaka (then Yanmar Diesel) and three other clubs who have since been relegated to regional leagues.

Despite their reputation, Urawa have only managed to win the J.League once, back in 2006. On three occasions they have finished second, in 2004, 2005 and 2007. The 2007 “loss” was the most heartbreaking for Urawa fans. Holding what looked like an unasailable seven point lead with four games remaining, Urawa somehow blew that advantage and lost the title on the final day to Kashima Antlers.

The Reds did enjoy some success in 2007 in the form of the AFC Champions League, becoming the first J. League side to win the AFC Champions League since it was reformed in 2003.

Leave a reply