Nagoya Grampus

Full Name: Nagoya Grampus
Nicknames: -
Founded: 1939 (as Toyota Motor S.C.)
Home Ground: Mizuho Athletic Stadium (Nagoya) and Toyota Stadium (Toyota City)
Manager/Coach: Dragan Stojkovic (Serbia)


League Champions: 2010
League Runners-Up: 2011
Emperor’s Cup: 1995, 1999
Super Cup: 1996, 2011


Nagoya celebrate their 2010 J. League Championship

Nagoya Grampus were one of the 10 clubs to feature in the inaugural J. League season and one of the five of those teams to have never been relegated from the top division.
Founded in 1939 as Toyota Motor Syukyu (Football) Club, Grampus did not join the Japan Soccer League until the inception of the Second Division in 1972, of which they were the inaugural champions.

Their name upon entering the J. League, Nagoya Grampus Eight, was changed at the start of the 2008 season to rename themselves Nagoya Grampus; the holdings company that owns the club still remains as Nagoya Grampus Eight Inc, along with their badge still retaining the original name.

The club has had several notable names as manager, such as Carlos Queiroz (1996-97), José Alberto Costa (1996) and current Arsenal Manager, Arsène Wenger (1995-96). Their current manager, Dragan Stojkovic, was a former player of the team under each of these managers while also representing his country in the FR Yugoslavia National Team. He returned after a seven year absence from the club to bring them their first AFC Champions League appearance in 2009 and their first league title in 2010.

Leave a reply