Júbilo Iwata

Full Name: Júbilo Iwata
Nickname: Júbilo

Founded: 1955 (as Fujitsu Football Club)
Home Ground: Yamaha Stadium, Ecopa Stadium 
Manager/Coach: Hitoshi Morishita (Japan) 


League Champions: 1987/88, 1997, 1999, 2002
League Cup Winners: 1998, 2010
Emperor’s Cup Winners: 1982, 2003
Super Cup Winners: 2000, 2003, 2004
AFC Champions League Winners: 1999


Beginning as the company team of Yamaha Motor Corporation, the team quickly rose through the regional competitions and reached the Japan Soccer League Second Division by 1978. A strong 1982 season saw them achieve both promotion to the First Division and winning the Emperor’s Cup in the same year.

As they continued in the First Division, they also won a league championship, however they failed to meet the requirements to gain entry to the J. League’s inaugural year as a founding member. After attaining professional status, renaming themselves Júbilo Iwata (Júbilo being the Portuguese word for ‘Triumph’) and operating under Yamaha Football Club, Ltd., they were approved for and promoted to the J. League for the 1994 season.

Their first decade in the J. League was strong, reaching several cup finals and winning ample silverware. This has been largely attributed to the impact made by the team’s inaugural J. League manager, Hans Ooft, and former Brazilian great and team captain, Dunga, who together laid the foundation for a strong, competitive side.

Leave a reply