Gamba Osaka


Full Name: Gamba Osaka
Nickname: Gamba, Ashi

Founded: 1980 (as Matsushita Electric Industrial Soccer Club)
Home Ground: Osaka Expo ’70 Stadium
Manager/Coach: TBC 


League Champions: 2005
League Cup Winners: 2007
Emperor’s Cup Winners: 1990, 2008, 2009
Super Cup Winners: 2007
AFC Champions League Winners: 2008


Gamba Osaka were one of the founding members of the J. League and one of the few original clubs to never have been relegated from the top division. 

Founded by Panasonic Corporation (then known as Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd.) in 1980, its original staff and playing squad consisted mostly of former Cerezo Osaka (then Yanmar Diesel) members from the disbanded B-team, Yanmar Club.

Gamba celebrate their 2008 ACL triumph

The club, however, went from strength to strength, earning promotion to the JSL Division One 1986-87 season and winning the Emperor’s Cup in 1990, holding a regular place in the top half of the league each year.

This form earned them entry to the J. League’s inaugural season in 1993. The team rebranded itself, as part of J. League requirements, as Gamba Osaka, ‘Gamba’ being a shortened version of ‘Gambare‘, a Japanese word roughly translating to ‘Fight’ or ‘Keep strong’. (A similar word would be ‘Forza‘ in Italian.)

Despite not really putting a stamp on the league in its first decade, the introduction of Akira Nishino as manager in 2002 has seen them regularly in the top three of the league, also having won several titles in recent years, and playing with a style admired by many football supporters around Asia.

Leave a reply