Cerezo Osaka

Full Name: Cerezo Osaka
Nickname: -

Founded: 1957 (as Yanmar Diesel)
Home Ground: Nagai Stadium, Nagai Ball Gall Field
Manager/Coach: Sergio Soares (Brazil) 


League Champions: 1971, 1974, 1975, 1980
League Cup Winners: 1973, 1983, 1984
Emperor’s Cup Winners: 1968, 1970, 1974


Founded in 1957 by heavy machinery manufacturers Yamnar Co. as Yanmar Diesel, the company team were one of the original teams in the Japan Soccer League in 1965. The team quickly established itself as one of the more dominant teams, particularly throughout the ’70s, adding multiple trophies to their club’s cabinet.

In 1993, at the time of the J. League’s inception, the club separated from Yanmar and incorporated as Osaka Football Club Ltd., in order to conform with requirements to join the new professional league, and adopted the name Cerezo Osaka, using ‘cerezo’, the Spanish word for ‘cherry tree’, in reference to Osaka city’s official flora.

Cerezo won the JFL championship in 1994 and earned promotion to 1995′s J. League. Mixed fortunes since then have seen the club relegated twice to J2 and also reaching two Emperor’s Cup finals. The club, after their last relegation in 2006, put their attention towards their youth production, which saw their attacking philosophy become even more effective with players like Shinji Kagawa and Takashi Inui coming through the ranks.

Leave a reply