Liaoning Whowin

Full Name: Liaoning Whowin FC
Nickname: Liaoning Tigers
Mascot: Little Tiger
Founded: 1953 (as Northeast China)
Home Ground: Tiexi Stadium
Manager/Coach: Ma Lin (China)
League Champions: 1954, 1978, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
League Runner-Up: 1958, 1960, 1963, 1979, 1980, 1989, 1999
FA Cup Winners: 1984, 1986
FA Cup Runner-Up: 1998, 2002
Super Cup Winners: 1997, 2001, 2003
Asian Club Championship Champions: 1990
Asian Club Championship Runner-Up: 1991

Liaoning was the most famous Chinese club in 1980s and early 1990s. It is still the only Chinese club to win the Asian Club Championship (now known as the AFC Champions League).

Established in 1953, the club was originally known as Northeast China. The club was re-named Liaoning FC in 1959. It was the first professional football club in China when they set up their professional structure in 1988. The current owner, Whowin Group, took over the club in 2006. Whowin Group is a privately owned real estate group.

Before Dalian Shide were promoted to top division, most Dalian players played for Liaoning. But when Dalian formed it’s own professional club, local players chose Dalian over Liaoning as their first choice.

Liaoning’s performance dropped not long after. The club was relegated to second division in 1996, and it took them three years to win promotion back to the CSL. However, they struggled back in the CSL, despite finishing as Runner-Up in 1999, and they were again relegated in 2008.

They won the C-League Division 1 title in 2009 and gained promotion back to the CSL for 2010.