Beijing Guo’an

Full Name: CITIC Beijin Guo’an Football Club
Nickname: Imperial Guard
Founded: 1955 (as Beijing City)
Home Ground: Workers Stadium, Xiannongtan Stadium, Fengtai Stadium
Manager/Coach: Jaime Pacheco (Portugal)


League Champions: 1956, 1957, 1958, 1963, 1973, 1982, 1984, 2009
League Runner-Up: 1977, 1995, 2007, 2011
FA Cup Winners: 1985, 1996, 1997, 2003
FA Cup Runner-Up: 1986, 2000, 2001
Super Cup Winners: 1998, 2004

Beijing football has a brilliant history. Founded in 1955, Beijing City won seven league titles in the National Football League. In 1992, CITIC Group (China International Trust and Investment Corporation) bought the club, making them fully professional and renaming them as CITIC Beijing Guo’an FC.

Since China launched it’s first ever fully professional league in 1994, Guo’an has done well in the FA Cup, claiming the Cup three times, but they have only managed to win the “Fire-fiend Cup” (name of CSL trophy) once.

However, together with Dalian Shide, Shandong Luneng and Shanghai Shenhua, Guo’an is one of the four teams that had never relegated from the top division since the inception of the CSL in 1994, and is considered as one of the powerhouse club in CSL by local fans.

The nick name “Imperial Guard”, or “Yulinjun” in Chinese, comes from the name of the combat troops of the capital city in ancient China, as the club is located in Beijing, the capital city of China. Imperial Guard is also the name of the clubs’ Official fans group. Another fans group, which is unofficial but the largest one, is “Green Hurricane”.

Beijing Guo’an is also well known for their passionate fans, the club is well supported in local Beijing and peripheral area. The club has sold 19,600 season tickets in 2011, which is a club record.