Sydney FC

Full Name: Sydney Football Club
Nickname: The Sky Blues
Founded: 2004
Home Ground: Sydney Football Stadium
Coach/Manager: Vitezslav Lavicka (Czech Republic)

A-League Champions: 2005-06, 2009-10
A-League Premiers: 2009-10

In the early years of the competition, the ‘Sky Blues’ lived up to their billing as the A-League’s glamour club by signing former Manchester United star Dwight Yorke as their captain. Claiming the championship in the league’s inaugural season with a 1-0 win over the Central Coast Mariners, the club also reached the finals in the following two seasons.

Their first taste of the AFC Champions League in 2007 ended with elimination at the group stage, after finishing second behind the eventual champions, Japan’s Urawa Red Diamonds. After a disappointing 2008-09 season, where they finished fifth, Sydney announced Vitezslav Lavicka as their new manager.

The appointment was a success as the club won their first premiership and also defeated their great rivals, Melbourne Victory, in the Grand Final to capture a second championship title.

However, the 2010-11 season was a disaster with the club winning just eighth games and finishing in ninth position. They also exited the 2011 Asian Champions League at the group stage, this time in third place.

Despite these failures, Sydney FC has remained loyal to Lavicka and will hope that he can return them to the top of the A-League.