Perth Glory

Full Name: Perth Glory Football Club
Nickname: -
Founded: 1995
Home Ground: nib Stadium
Coach/Manager: Ian Ferguson (Scotland)

NSL Premiers: 2000, 2002, 2004
NSL Champions: 2003, 2004
A-League Pre Season Cup Runner-Up: 2005, 2007

Perth Glory was formed in 1995 and joined the now defunct National State League in the 1996-97 season. They are one of only three teams in the current A-League to have survived the NSL, with the other two being Adelaide United and the Newcastle United Jets.

The club dominated the NSL competition in the early 2000s, winning the premiership on three occasions and the championship twice. However, since joining the A-League, Perth Glory’s fortunes have changed. Finishing second last for three consecutive seasons, the club finally made its first appearance in the A-League finals in 2009-10.

The club replaced David Mitchell with former North Queensland Fury manager, Ian Ferguson, in the early stages of the 2010-11 season. Despite a positive start, they were restored to second last on the table after a disastrous losing streak of seven straight matches.