Adelaide United

Full Name: Adelaide United Football Club
Nickname: The Reds, United
Founded: 2003
Home Ground: Hindmarsh Stadium
Manager/Coach: Rini Coolen (NED)

A-League Premiers: 2005-06
A-League Premiership Runner-Up: 2006-07, 2008-09
A-League Championship Runner-Up: 2006-07, 2008-09
A-League Pre-Season Cup Winners: 2006, 07
AFC Champions League Runner Up: 2008
FIFA Club World Cup 5th Place: 2008

Adelaide United was founded in September 2003 after the withdrawal of Adelaide City from the old National Soccer League.

The club joined the A-League the following year and went on to become premiers in the competition’s inaugural season. ‘The Reds’ have participated in the Asian Champions League on three occasions and are one of only two A-League team to achieve this feat. In 2008, they became the first Australian club to make it to the final, before losing to Japan’s Gamba Osaka.

The club’s early success came to a halt in the 2009-10 season, where they finished a dismal tenth. To further compound their problems, the club’s owner, Nick Bianco, handed back the licence to the Football Federation Australia who took over ownership of the club as they searched for new owners.

It took some 18 months, but finally new owners were found and a consortium headed up by local businessman Rob Gerard took ownership of the club during the 2010/11 season.

Rini Coolen’s appointment as the team’s new manager for the 2010-11 season helped Adelaide become the first Australian club to climb from the bottom of the table to the top. However, a mid-season form slump eventually saw them knocked out in the finals.